we must believe in magicOn April 21, when music lovers rush to the record stores in honor of “Record Store Day,” fans of John Carter Cash will have the opportunity to pick up his newest  album, We Must Believe In Magic.

The 17-track release is a collection of songs recorded over the last ten years and features an impressive list of musical guests, including Tony Rice, Ana Cristina Cash, John Cowan, The Fisk Jubilee Singers, Jerry Douglas, Dave Roe, The Daeger Brothers, Bob Moore, Etta Britt, Charlie McCoy, Tony Harrell, Jamie Hartford, Sam Bush, Jack Clift and the Cedar Hill Refugees, Sarah Peasall McGuffey, Ira Dean, Ronnie and Rob McCoury, Eric Hamilton and many others.

Made up of original material, some of the project is co-written with master songwriters, including Bill Miller, Shawn Camp, and Wesley Orbison. Another highlight of the release includes the remake of Trent Reznor’s “Hurt,” previously released by Cash’s father. Much of the production is stripped down and simple, focusing on the song and the individual instrumentalist.

The title track is the essential message of the album. When discussing the song, John Carter commented, “I remember believing in magic. I recall the wind in itself being alive and with a voice… It smelled awake, purposeful and spoke in a resounding tongue I perfectly understood. All was vast, open, dazzling and wondrous. I believe this to be the truth of the world……the magic is inside us all. And though it may be forgotten, it can be remembered once again… It is only up to us to do one single thing, and do it purely…believe.”

Released through Reviver Legacy, the full-length album is produced by John Carter Cash and was engineered and mixed by Chuck Turner at Cash Cabin Studios in Hendersonville, Tennessee, where John Carter worked with his parents Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash on much of their latter life recordings.

For more information and upcoming show dates, visit johncartercash.com and follow him on Facebook.