Cam PhotoCam announced final nominees today for top domestic Country radio stations and broadcast personalities when she notified the 2016 CMA Broadcast Personality and Radio Station of the Year finalists via personalized video messages captured while on tour. The news was delivered after learning she was a two-time CMA Awards nominee.

“My friends in radio have been supportive of my career from the very beginning,” said Cam. “They are the ones getting our music out there and helping us reach new fans. I’m so happy I get to deliver the good news about their CMA Broadcast Award nominations – it’s so important to take the time and celebrate all the hard work put in.”

The winners will be notified in mid-October and will be acknowledged at “The 50th Annual CMA Awards,” to be held Wednesday, Nov. 2 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) and broadcast live by the ABC Television Network from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood return to host Country Music’s Biggest Night™.

A quarter of the nominees are first time CMA Broadcast Award finalists and Medium Market Radio Station of the Year is proving to be a competitive category with three veteran Country stations earning their 17th, 19th, and 38th nominations (WBBS – Syracuse, N.Y.; KUZZ – Bakersfield, Calif.; and WUSY – Chattanooga, Tenn., respectively.).

“Much of the sustained success of our format and rise of Country’s newest stars can be attributed to the passion and drive of these key radio professionals,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “They pioneer the grassroots efforts in communities across the nation to keep Country Music listeners excited and engaged with the genre.”

Five finalists are selected for CMA Broadcast Personality and CMA Radio Station of the Year in four categories: Small, Medium, Large, and Major Market.

The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement, and biographical information. Candidates for Station of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings history, community involvement, and format leadership.

Three finalists are selected for National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To be eligible, candidates must be syndicated, short-form, hub voice-tracking, and satellite personalities heard in at least three markets with a minimum of 40 shows per year.

CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities, and CMA member radio stations in the United States and Canada were eligible to enter. The entries are judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions.

An aggregate score of the first round of judging and the second round, which is done by a different panel of judges, determines the winners. The professional services organization Deloitte & Touche LLP tabulates scoring by the judges. CMA Broadcast Award winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who received trophies in 2015 were not eligible in 2016.



  • “America’s Morning Show” (Blair Garner, Kelly Ford, and Chuck Wicks) – Cumulus
  •  “Country Countdown USA” (Lon Helton) – Westwood One
  •  “The Crook and Chase Countdown” (Lorianne Crook and Charlie Chase) – iHeartMedia

Major Market

  • “Chris Carr & Company” (Chris Carr, Jeff “Maverick” Bolen, and Kia Becht) – KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.
  • “Dave and Veronica Morning Show” (the late Dave McKay and Veronica Alfaro) – WQYK, Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, Fla.
  • “The Michael J Show” (Michael J. Stuehler) – WPOC, Baltimore, Md.
  • “The Q Morning Zoo” (Tim Tuttle, Kevin Kline, and Erica Rico) – KKBQ, Houston-Galveston, Texas
  • “Tanner in the Morning” (“Rob Tanner” Lamb, Willa Hamrick “Catherine Lane”, and “Chris Allen” Gordon) – WSOC, Charlotte-Gastonia, N.C./Rock Hill, S.C.

Large Market

  • “AJ & Ashley In The Morning” (AJ Maguire and Ashley Stegbauer) – WWKA, Orlando, Fla.
  •  “The Big Dave Show” (David Chandler, Chelsie Shinkle, and Jason Statt) – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • “The Boxer Show” (“Boxer” Brandon Nasby) – WCOL, Columbus, Ohio
  • “The Randy, Jamie, and Jojo Show” (Randy Carroll, Jamie Martin, and JoJo Meza) – KAJA, San Antonio, Texas
  • “Woody and the Wake-UP Call” (Woody Johnson, Dan E. Zuko, and Kayla Hanley) – WCOL, Columbus, Ohio

Medium Market

  • Brent Michaels – KUZZ, Bakersfield, Calif.
  • “The Gator & StyckMan Program” (Gator Harrison, Greg “StyckMan” Owens, and “Cowboy” Kyle Croft) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.
  • “Ken, Kelley, and Daniel” (Ken Hicks, Kelley Bradshaw, and Daniel Wyatt) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.
  • “Maverick and Lulu in the Morning” (Maverick Johnson and Luanne “Lulu” Krysz) – WCTQ, Sarasota-Bradenton, Fla.
  • “Tom and Becky” (Tom Owens and Becky Palmer) – WBBS, Syracuse, N.Y.

Small Market

  • “Afternoons with Cash” (Cash Williams) – KTTS, Springfield, Mo.
  • “Barrett, Fox & Berry” (Bill Barrett, Tim Fox, and Tracy Berry) – KKNU, Eugene-Springfield, Ore.
  • “Ben and Arnie” (Arnie Andrews and Ben Butler) – WCOW, La Crosse, Wis.
  • “The Eddie Foxx Show” (Eddie Foxx and Sharon Green) – WKSF, Asheville, N.C.
  • “Scotty & Cara in the Morning” (Scotty Cox and Cara Denis) – KCLR, Columbia, Mo.


Major Market

KKBQ – Houston-Galveston, Texas
KWJJ – Portland, Ore.
WKLB – Boston, Mass.
WMZQ – Washington, D.C.
WSOC – Charlotte-Gastonia, N.C./Rock Hill, S.C.

Large Market

WCOL – Columbus, Ohio
WCTK – Providence-Warwick-Pawtucket, R.I.
WQDR – Raleigh-Durham, N.C.
WUBE – Cincinnati, Ohio
WWKA – Orlando, Fla.

Medium Market

KATM – Stockton, Calif.
KUZZ – Bakersfield, Calif.
WBBS – Syracuse, N.Y.
WUSY – Chattanooga, Tenn.
WYRK – Buffalo-Niagara Falls, N.Y.

Small Market

KORA – Bryan-College Station, Texas
KTTS – Springfield, Mo.
WCOW – La Crosse, Wis.
WKML – Fayetteville, N.C.
WKSF – Asheville, N.C.

“The 50th Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer and Paul Miller is the Director. The CMA Awards will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.