cmt awards 2017The 2017 CMT Awards were held tonight (6/7) from the Music City Center in Nashville, Tennessee.  The show opened with Jason, Aldean, Darius Rucker, and Charles Kelley performing “Midnight Rider” by the Allman Brothers Band as a tribute to the late Greg Allman.


The show then switched gears into a hilarious skit involving many country artists living together in an airbnb called “aircmt.”  Darius Rucker, who portrayed the president of CMT, informed Charles Esten that all the awards show’s acts would be living together in the aircmt, which happened to be Rayna James’s house from CMT’s “Nashville.”  The stars that took part in the skit included Brett Eldredge, Kellie Pickler, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, and more.


Little Big Town took home the award for Group Video of the Year for “Better Man” before Brothers Osborne performed their hit song “Ain’t My Fault” with Peter Frampton.  Jon Pardi played his hit, “Dirt on my Boots,” and Miranda Lambert took the stage to sing “Pink Sunglasses.”  Shortly after, Jason Derulo and Luke Bryan took home the award for Performance of the Year for their CMT Crossroads Collaboration before Thomas Rhett took the stage to perform “Craving You.”


Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban took the stage to perform a slow version of “The Fighter,” which they later won the award for for Collaborative Video of the Year.  The Chainsmokers joined Florida Georgia Line to perform “Last Day Alive” on the rooftop of the newly opened FGL House in downtown Nashville before Blake Shelton performed “Every Time I Hear That Song” to the crowd.  One of the funniest moments was when the night’s host Charles Esten came out wearing a men’s romper to introduce Brett Elderedge’s performance of “Something I’m Good At.”

Blake Shelton was the lucky man who got to introduce the night’s award for Social Superstar of the Year to Keith Urban before Jason Derulo and Luke Bryan performed “Strip It Down” and “Want to Want Me.”  Another highlight of the night would have to be Kelsea Ballerini’s first live performance of her new single, “Legends.”

The show ended with Kid Rock announcing Keith Urban had won Video of the Year for “Blue Ain’t Your Color” just before Lady Antebellum took the stage with Earth, Wind, and Fire for an unforgettable collaborative finale.

Video of the Year:
Artists of Then, Now & Forever, “Forever Country”
Brad Paisley, “Today”
Carrie Underwood, “Church Bells”
Cole Swindell, “Middle of a Memory”
Florida Georgia Line, “H.O.L.Y.”
Keith Urban, “Blue Ain’t Your Color” (WINNER)
Luke Bryan, “Huntin’, Fishin,’ and Lovin’ Every Day”
Miranda Lambert, “Vice”


Female Video of the Year:
Carrie Underwood, “Church Bells” (WINNER)
Kelsea Ballerini, “Peter Pan”
Lauren Alaina, “Road Less Traveled”
Maren Morris, “80s Mercedes”
Miranda Lambert, “Vice”
Reba McEntire, “Back to God”


Male Video of the Year:
Blake Shelton, “Came Here to Forget”
Eric Church, “Record Year”
Jason Aldean, “Lights Come On”
Keith Urban, “Blue Ain’t Your Color” (WINNER)
Luke Bryan, “Huntin’, Fishin’, and Lovin’ Every Day”
Thomas Rhett, “Star of the Show”


Duo Video of the Year:
Big & Rich feat. Tim McGraw, “Lovin’ Lately”
Brothers Osborne, “21 Summer”
Dan + Shay, “How Not To”
Florida Georgia Line, “H.O.L.Y.” (WINNER)
LOCASH, “I Know Somebody”


Group Video of the Year:
Eli Young Band, “Saltwater Gospel”
Lady Antebellum, “You Look Good”
Little Big Town, “Better Man” (WINNER)
Midland, “Drinkin’ Problem”
Old Dominion, “Song For Another Time”

Breakthrough Video of the Year:
Brett Young, “In Case You Didn’t Know”
Jon Pardi, “Dirt On My Boots”
Kane Brown, “Used to Love You Sober”
Lauren Alaina, “Road Less Traveled” (WINNER)
Luke Combs, “Hurricane”
RaeLynn, “Love Triangle”

Collaborative Video of the Year:
Artists Then, Now & Forever, “Forever Country”
Chris Young feat. Vince Gill, “Sober Saturday Night”
Dierks Bentley and Elle King, “Different for Girls”
Florida Georgia Line feat. Tim McGraw, “May We All”
Keith Urban feat. Carrie Underwood, “The Fighter” (WINNER)
Kenny Chesney feat. Pink, “Setting the World on Fire”CMT

Performance of the Year:
Jason Aldean, “Hicktown (From CMT Concert of the Summer)”
Jason Derulo and Luke Bryan, “Want to Want Me (From CMT Crossroads)” (WINNER)
John Mellencamp and Darius Rucker, “Pink Houses (From CMT Crossroads)”
Alicia Keys and Maren Morris, “80s Mercedes (From CMT Crossroads)”
Meghan Trainor, Jill Scott and Kelsea Ballerini, “You’re Still the One/Any Man of Mine/Man, I Feel Like a Woman (From CMT Artists of the Year)”
Nick Jonas and Thomas Rhett, “Close (From CMT Crossroads)”